2018 Wake Park World Series Schedule


2018 Wake Park World Series Schedule

2018 Wake Park World Series Schedule

The World Wake Association (WWA) has released the 2018 Wake Park World Series (WPWS) schedule. This year, the series includes five stops spanning across three continents with over $90,000 in prize money for the podiums. With 2017 standing as the most progressive season yet, the 2018 WWA World Wake Park Series is sure to showcase new talent and continue the exponential growth of park wakeboarding.

“Since first competing in 2016, the World Wake Park Series has brought me to new levels as a competitive park rider. Being the reigning champion for two years in a row is a surreal feeling and I’m stoked to see what the 2018 season will bring. This is the biggest competitive arena in park wakeboarding and the level of riding will only continue to increase. I can’t wait to see what this year’s series has in store for us,” said two-time defending WWA Wake Park World Series Champion, Guenther Oka.

Globally recognized as the pinnacle of park wakeboarding, the WWA Wake Park World Series will send riders to new parks around the world, featuring Pro Men Traditional and Features-Only divisions. The 2018 season, will kick off at Shark Wake Park in Myrtle Beach, South Carolina. This Features Only event will be held June 14-16 for both pros and amateurs. The second stop brings riders to Tomar, Portugal for the Tomar Pro on June 29-30 for the first international stop of the series.

Stop 3 heads to The Quarry Cable Park in Crystal Lake, Illinois for the 2018 Nautique WWA Wake Park National Championships on August 2-5. This highly anticipated event challenges the nation’s top amateurs, qualifying through the National Points Chase series, and top-notch pro riders in an inspiring weekend the whole family can enjoy. Stop 4 brings the series to Playa del Carmen, Mexico, serving as the 2018 WWA Wake Park World Championships presented by Nautique Boats, at the Mayan Water Complex on November 2-4. The final stop brings us across the globe to TWP Korat in Korat City, Thailand to once again round out the 2018 series on November 23-25.

“Wake parks are continuing to open all over the world and serve as the gateway for so many riders to experience wake. The level of talent seen in this series and around the globe continues to expand as well. We look forward to the continued growth of the sport and promoting the world’s elite wake park events with more stops in new, amazing locations worldwide,” said WWA President Shannon Starling. With a jam-packed season of premier park riding, the 2018 series is sure to showcase the world’s best park talent to ever hit the water.


Stop 1 – Shark Wake Park Open (Features only)
Shark Wake Park
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA
June 14-16
Amateur & Pro Divisions

Stop 2 – Tomar Pro (Features only, two towers)
Tomar, Portugal
June 29-30
Pro Divisions Only

Stop 3 – 2018 Nautique WWA Wake Park National Championships
The Quarry Cable Park
Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
August 2-5
Amateur & Pro Divisions

Stop 4 – 2018 WWA Wake Park World Championships presented by Nautique Boats
Mayan Water Complex
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
November 2-4
Amateur & Pro Divisions

Stop 5 – TWP Korat Open
TWP Korat
Korat City, Thailand
November 23-25
Amateur & Pro Divisions


About The WWA:

Developed for riders by riders, the World Wake Association stands as a global network of passionate representatives dedicated to the growth of towed boardsports. Since 1989 our mission and values remain true to the core of our community. Our position as the authority on competitive standards has been earned through consistent development; sanctioning and producing more than 6,000 worldwide events and counting. We are the only organization solely focused on the best interests of the sport, spearheading a collective movement on the journey to discover where wake takes you. The WWA owns and operates the WWA Wakeboard World Series, WWA Wake Park World Series, WWA Wakeboard National Championships, WWA Wake Park National Championships, WWA Wakeboard World Championships, WWA Wake Park World Championships, WWA Wake Park Triple Crown, WWA Pro Card and WWA Rider Experience. For more information on the World Wake Association, check out TheWWA.com.

More articles : THE WWA NEWS on UNLEASHED


Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.