The WWA Announces 2016 Wake Park World Series Schedule

Wake Park World series 2

The WWA Announces 2016 Wake Park World Series Schedule

Today, the World Wakeboard Association (WWA) announced the 2016 Wake Park World Series Schedule, which includes three events slated to take place across the globe. The series will kick off this weekend with the Nautique WWA Wake Park National Championships in beautiful Orlando, Florida on August 4-7 at Orlando Watersports Complex. The second stop is set to take place in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic at Rad Wake Park on October 7-9 for the Malibu Punta Cana Pro, while the third and final round moves to Camsur, Philippines on October 29-31 for the CWC WWA Wake Park World Championships powered by Nautique.

About The WWA Wake Park World Series

The WWA Wake Park World Series is focused on quality over quantity for the 2016 season. There are a handful of one off events happening around the world, like the FISE, which is why we decided to consolidate our series into only the best traditional events and locations that we could find,” said WWA President Shannon Starling.

The WWA is focused on making every aspect of the sport better for all wake park riders, including better money, huge changes to format and rules and only the best facilities that are willing to help us elevate the sport to new levels. It’s going to be a great 2016 and more solid ground work for many years to come.”

The Dominican Republic will host the world’s best wakeboarders for the first time in the series’ history, making it one of the most highly anticipated events in recent years. As one of the most sought-after destination in the world, the stunning water at Rad Wake Park is destined to be a huge hit among the riders and will serve as the facilities grand opening. The finals stop of the series, following its five-year hiatus, returns to the Philippines as Camsur Watersports Complex celebrates its 10-year anniversary. The event has signed on for a three-year agreement and is one of the worlds most popular watersports spots for both, pro and amateur riders.
wake park world series 1
Multiple changes have been made to weighting in the traditional category, including bringing a composition score back into the format. Last Chance Qualifiers (LCQ) are the newest addition in order to guarantee that each rider rides twice, ultimately helping save them from being knocked out early due to an unfortunate mistake after traveling great distance for the opportunity to compete. The features category will retain the same judging format with features weightings being determined based on the park.

“During the off-season the WWA enlisted an elite group of wake park athletes and officials in an effort to continually improve wake park contests for the 2016 season and beyond,” said WWA Executive Director Corrie Wilson. “The athletes are looking forward to using the changes to encourage not only the best all around riding and lines, but to make the contest more understandable and exciting for spectators watching. We have an amazing lineup of WPWS events this year and I look forward to seeing the athletes continue to reinvent what can be done at wake parks around the globe.”

The three events boast more than $105,000 in total prize money for the series in 2016, including $15,000 in overall prize money that will be up for grabs when the riders hit the water.

Click Here for more information regarding the 2016 Wake Park World Series.

2016 Wake Park World Series Schedule:

Nautique WWA Wake Park National Championships
Orlando Watersports Complex
Orlando, Florida
August 4-7, 2016

Malibu Punta Cana Pro
Rad Park
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
October 7-9, 2016

WWA Wake Park World Championships presented by Nautique
Camsur Watersports Complex
Camsur, Philippines
October 29-31, 2016

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.